Q:If I make a copy of an opponent's morph creature (for example using clever impersonator), can I morph it face up, or is it just a nameless 2/2? If I can turn it face up, is my opponent required to show me what it is when I copy it so I know its morph cost?
Based on oracle ruling, I am not sure if this is infinite tokens or not… Based on the way things are worded, it looks like they don’t stack together because they are differently named permanents. But I really don’t think it was intended to make infinite between the 2… Anyone know what the rules actually say about this?
"If there are two Doubling Seasons on the battlefield, then the number of tokens or counters is four times the original number. If there are three on the battlefield, then the number of tokens or counters is eight times the original number, and so on."
"If you control two Parallel Lives, then the number of tokens created is four times the original number. If you control three, then the number of tokens created is eight times the original number, and so on."
It’s not infinite. Each replacement effect applies to an event a maximum of one time.
If you control one Doubling Season and one Parallel Lives, an effect which normally creates one token will create four tokens instead (each effect will double it one time).
MTG Tutorials: All About Replacement Effects
Comprehensive Rules: 614.5
Q:So yet again legacy decks have brought up a weird scenario that I need clarification on. In Mud list I'm looking into, they play play sets of Chalice of the Void and Trinisphere. If Chalice is set to a value less than three, and Trinisphere makes all spells less than three mana cost three mana to cast, does that mean that the spells that normally would be countered by Chalice aren't countered? Basically, can I have Trinisphere and Chalice out at the same time and they still work in my favor?
No, there’s no real interaction between these cards.
Chalice of the Void cares about the converted mana cost of the card, which is a fixed value a card has.
Trinisphere affects how much you have to spend to cast spells. This is an additional cost, and it follows the normal rules for additional costs.
Effects that increase or decrease the cost of spells (such as Trinisphere, or Arcane Melee) don’t have any effect on the spells’ converted mana cost.
For example, a spell with a printed mana cost of 1U has a converted mana cost of 2, even if Trinisphere means you have to spend 3 to actually cast it.
Note you won’t be able to do this with flying creatures.
This is a good point. Circle of Flame only triggers at the moment when a creature without flying is declared as an attacker. Casting Turn to Frog on a creature with flying to make it lose flying after it’s already been declared attacking won’t cause Circle of Flame to trigger.
You need the creature to lose flying before it’s declared as an attacker in order to trigger Circle of Flame.
The six keyword mechanics in the upcoming large fall set.
Q:Is it possible to to use Turn to Frog / Polymorphist's Jest to kill creatures with Circle of Flame? I'm a little unsure about the minutiae of the declare attacker step and when I get priority, and whether or not damage gets carried over once Turn to Frog resolves.
Yes, you can kill attacking creatures this way. It doesn’t matter whether you Turn to Frog the creature before or after it’s been dealt the damage from Circle of Flame, since the damage dealt by Circle of Flame remains on the creature until end of turn.
Note that if the creature is receiving any modifiers to its toughness — for example: if it has any +1/+1 counters on it, or if it’s enchanted by Hammerhand — then the 1 damage from Circle of Flame will not be enough to destroy it. Turn to Frog (and similar effects) only set the creature’s base power and toughness, and effects which add or subtract power or toughness are applied to the creature after that.
Q:Does Corpsejack Menace's effect only apply to +1/+1 counters? Or would it apply to different values, like the +5/+5 dished out by Beastmaster Ascension?
Only +1/+1 counters.
Q:I have a long and a short EDH question, Short question: can you Cancel a commander being summoned? Long question: in a multiplayer EDH game, if you take control of an opponents commander, does it still to commander damage to either the opponent whose commander it is or to the other opponents?
Answer to short question: Yes you can. If you do, the commander’s controller can choose whether to put the commander back into the command zone instead of the graveyard, just like if it had been on the battlefield and died. If they put it back in the command zone it will cost an additional (2) the next time they cast it.
Answer to long question: If a player takes 21 total combat damage from the same commander, they lose the game. It does not matter which player or players control the commander each time it deals damage.
For example, let’s say Alexa, Ben and Carol are playing a three-player game. Alexa attacks Ben twice with her commander, Karthus, Tyrant of Jund, dealing him 14 damage. Then Carol takes control of Karthus on her turn and attacks Ben for another 7 damage. Ben has then taken 21 total combat damage from Alexa’s commander and loses the game. The fact that Carol controlled Alexa’s commander when it dealt some of that damage doesn’t matter.
Q:In one of my matches Nissa's last ability went off and after they put all the lands down I used bile blight twice, we asked 3 people and 2 said that yes I had killed them all, but one said they don't share the same name (the elemental creature forests) was I indeed the winner? I assume the name bile blight targets is "forest," since they became creatures.
Yes, all basic Forests are named “Forest”. Nissa’s abilities don’t change the name of the lands, they just turn them into 4/4 creatures with the creature type Elemental and the trample ability.
If you cast Bile Blight on a basic Forest that has become a creature, all basic Forests that are currently creatures will get -3/-3 until end of turn.
Q:Regarding Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth, does that mean that whenever I tap a forest or any else type of land, it produces a black mana along with the regular type of mana that land produces?
Having the land subtype “Swamp” means the land has the ability, “T: Add B to your mana pool.” You can activate this ability instead of activating one of the land’s other mana abilities.
In other words, you can tap the land for black or for whatever it normally makes, but not both. Essentially Urborg turns your basic lands into dual lands, and so on.